Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday [and the day before] Chase and I were out shopping for diaper bags at one of our favorite malls, The Grove. We went to Nordstroms, and a few other small boutiques and I wasn’t really too excited about anything, so we got a little off track and wandered into some other stores… Crate & Barrel and Sur La Table.

[Source]

At Crate & Barrel we picked up a few different sized colorful bowls, decorative porcelain “condiment” spoons, & decorative towels.

[Source]

At Sur La Table, we signed up for a cooking class! (cooking classroom pictured above)  We want to learn how to prepare more Italian style dishes, so we picked the class called “Italian Pasta Favorites.”

Class description from their website: In this class we’ll show you how to bring out the best in everyone’s favorite pantry staple, dried pasta. We’ll share great new ideas for dressing up this everyday favorite with easy, fast and fun dishes that highlight the season’s bounty. Best of all, these dishes feature versatile new flavor combinations that will be a welcome addition to any cook’s kitchen and perfect for experimenting.

Menu for class: Lemon and Arugula Spaghettini with Chile and Pecorino – Orecchiette with Spicy Sausage, Broccoli Rabe and Fresh Oregano – Rigatoni with Charred Eggplant and Smoked Mozzarella. (you also get to eat what you & everyone else makes!)

This class is going to be a blast! I love cooking, and to learn some new techniques in the kitchen with my honey will be so much fun! I bet you would never believe that this was Chase’s idea…

We are going to be taking it in the middle of March so hopefully I’m not on bed rest or anything by then.

We also purchased a few things at this amazing store ~ we got cheesecloth (so I can make my own almond milk), a pastry cutter, some ceramic knives, swiss peeler, full bodied wine glasses, a wine decanter, a donut pan, and a silicone basting brush.

New kitchen tools make me want to be in the kitchen even more than I already am 🙂

_________________________________________

Now I am off to the gym. We are going to dinner with some friends at this french restaurant called Bouchon in a few hours.

Apparently its a special night ~ fried chicken night. I don’t think I have eaten fried chicken in over a decade… but this place is supposed to be unbelievable and our friends love it. So we are excited to see what its all about. I checked out their menu and they have some really delicious sounding salads so hopefully I can fill up on one of those before something like this arrives on the table.

*Note to self* my diet is a bank account.

Bethenny Frankel’s rule – “taste everything, eat nothing”

I will let you know how that goes……

What are your favorite kitchen tools?

Have you ever taken a cooking class? Would you?

What do you typically order when you go out to eat?

Do you like eating tapas style so you get a little taste of everything?

