Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For lent Chase decided to give up his favorite red bull, and I decided to give up chocolate/sweets – as in chocolate chips, candy, cookies, and any other unhealthy forms of chocolate (not cocoa powder or raw cacao)

Chase loves his red bull. Like he REALLY loves the stuff. LOL. He would drink 10 a day if they were in the fridge. *shaking head* However, he knows red bull isn’t good for him.

Then he suggested I start making him his kale smoothie everyday again for breakfast.

I agreed. If I was going to make him one daily, I would have no excuse not to make one for myself as well. I already have kale smoothies a couple times a week, but I wanted to get them back into my diet every.single.day. If I have it first thing in the morning, I won’t be too full for one later if we end up being out and about during the day, or going out for dinner.

Baby H needs calcium more than ever right now, as her bones are hardening. Kale is one of the best sources available (way better than milk which some of you might find hard to believe ~ and if you are a skeptic please read these pages 1 and 2. This information will open your eyes to the lies that dairy manufacturers may have led you to believe.)

Furthermore- please watch this video on the 6 reasons you should avoid dairy at all costs! You all really need to hear this information.

______________________________________________

Anywho back to the kale smoothie… I tried out a new ingredient in our smoothies today.

My friend Elyse over at GNC sent me a package filled with lots of protein shakes and snacks, including PB2.

So I decided to see what the PB2 is about.

This powdered chocolate peanut butter has 85% less calories than traditional peanut butter, with no additives, and its all natural. The ingredients are: roasted peanuts, cocoa powder, sugar, and salt.

On the back here it says: Savor the secret of Chocolate PB2. Superior quality peanuts are first slow roasted then pressed to remove the fat and oil. We then blend the finest cocoa beans for a natural roasted peanut butter and chocolate flavor thats rich in taste, easy to enjoy and wonderfully healthy. It has a nice subtle taste of peanut butter and just a hint of chocolate. Its really the perfect addition to my smoothies, since I add coconut oil & chia seeds for my healthy fats and don’t need any extra coming from PB. I will definitely be using it again! Thanks Elyse!

PB2 Kale Smoothie (serves 1)

Tastes like a chocolate peanut butter banana shake. Perfect for an energizing nutrient dense breakfast or snack!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup non dairy milk (I used Almond Breeze Vanilla 40 cal.)
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin unrefined organic coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • generous sprinkling of cinnamon/nutmeg
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 2 tbsp. PB2
  • 1 squirt of agave (to taste)
  • 1 leaf of kale (washed, stems removed)
  • 1 frozen ripe banana (peeled)
  • 4 ice cubes

Directions

Put everything into your blender (or vitamix) in the order listed above. Blend. Serve immediately.

Chase says when he drinks this he feels rejuvenated. I couldn’t agree more. Now lets hope he can stay away from the red bull, and that I can keep my hands out of the cookie jar! 🙂

Have you tried PB2? What do you think of it?

Do you like to use more or less fruit in your smoothies?

Did you know that ripe bananas relieve constipation, and that unripe bananas spearhead constipation? If i eat more than 2 a day … no bueno! LOL

xoxo Jennifer

