Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

How Big is Baby?

According to babycenter.com: This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended. She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

According to babiesonline.com: This week marks the beginning of the third trimester. The retina develops its normal layers by the 27th week of gestation. These layers are important in receiving light and light information and transmitting it to the brain for interpretation. Your baby’s skin is quite wrinkled from floating in water. It will stay this way until a few weeks after birth as your newborn fills out into a baby.

How I’m Feeling Physically

I have actually been more tired than usual. Hayden is definitely getting heavier to carry around and I think that is starting to take a toll… and I still have 12 and a half more weeks! When I sit on the couch I have to put my feet up after a few minutes as they start to get sore if I don’t (lack of sufficient blood flow I am assuming).

Last week I got in 5 workouts at the gym (elliptical for 45+ minutes), 2 Netflix 10 Minute Target Toning, and 1 day of lifting weights in the gym, and doing squats & lunges. I’m getting a little bored with this routine, and wish I had a workout buddy or something to make the gym more fun again. When I was in Minnesota I hit the gym with my sister just about every single time as she is also an avid gym go-er. I’m also really anxious to get back into fitness classes after Hayden is born. My go-to were bikram yoga and yoga sculpt. So I hope to get back into those first, and then maybe try Zumba and Cardio Barre. One of my good friends currently attends Zumba and Cardio Barre and loves them so I wanna see what all the hype is about! Three more months until I will not be pregnant anymore. TIME IS FLYING!

__________________________________________________________________ I thought I should mention, something kind of scary that happened last night. After my cardio workout in the gym (elliptical) Chase and I went to see Underworld at LA Live. We were already running kind of late for the movie, and had a ways to walk from the underground parking lot to the theatre. I was wearing high heeled wedge boots and when we started to walk fast, I started having some pain under my uterus on the right side ~ that I thought to be Braxton Hicks. The pain wasn’t so bad when we sat down to watch the movie, but then when I got up to go to the bathroom it seemed to resume. When I returned from the bathroom, the pain remained throughout the rest of the movie, and walking back to the car afterwards. When we got home, I sat down on the couch and started to wonder what was going on and why I was still feeling this pain. My belly was really hard and the cramping didn’t seem to be coming and going so I didn’t think it was contractions. I could however feel the baby kicking after drinking cold water so I had a little reassurance. I called my doctor and explained what I was going through. He said he thought it was round ligament pain since it was only on one side and that if the pain should increase or turn into contractions to go to the hospital. He also suggested I take two tylenol and apply a warm heating pack on the area. So after taking his advice (minus the useless tylenol), I headed to bed early so I could rest. I laid in bed with the heating pack and searched my baby bump app on my iPhone for others who could relate to my situation. After reading the forum for about a half hour the pain seemed to get more intense and I thought it was turning into contractions. I think reading the forum, and not knowing what was going on with my body was stressing me out – causing me to make my pain worse. This lasted for about twenty minutes and I debated going to the hospital with Chase. He said try to calm down maybe you are psyching yourself up, so I put my phone down and laid on my side and tried to fall asleep. I fell asleep, slept through the night (except for waking to 3+ times to pee), and when I woke up in the morning today I was still a little sore in that one area but not nearly as bad. I’m going to make a doctor appointment this week and see if they can find out if anything is wrong. Thing is, I just had a doctor appointment last Thursday (glucose test day), and I heard our baby’s strong heartbeat and was told everything was going perfectly. So I am perplexed at what could be going on. Maybe I just had too much activity going on yesterday- with the working out and then walking too fast to the movie? I really don’t know. :/ So today I took a break from the gym, the high heels, and have been really easy on my body.

I have the 4D ultrasound tomorrow so we can see just what the baby is doing! I can’t wait!!

How I’m Feeling Emotionally

Emotionally I am feeling good, but obviously after I have my ultrasound I will be much more relaxed.

I am excited that I am now in the last week of my second trimester and can’t wait to be saying that about the third and final trimester.

The weather here has been beautiful (70-80*) and I am actually excited for spring to come as I miss buying fresh produce like strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries. Springtime also means more smoothies for breakfast as I don’t mind waking up and having something cold first thing. I love seasons, its nice to have a change every few months (but especially after the holidays are over) And even tho I am pregnant, I want to lay out on our rooftop pool!!! I don’t care I will bare the belly! Now, I just hope my bikinis still fit…. ummm….. LOL

Random

  • Weight gained so far: 15 lbs.
  • Pregnancy length so far: 27 weeks, 3 days
  • Days until Hayden’s EDD: 89!
  • eating lots of this week: Soft & chewy chocolate chip cookies, banana soft serve, protein (organic cage free eggs, wild fish, organic free range meat!!), spaghetti squash with pesto sauce, avocado, mango, and my new favorite Organic Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt. I also really want to try blood oranges! Going shopping for some produce tomorrow!
  • shows I currently am loving on TV: The Bachelor, and the Dog Whisperer, (sad that RHBevHills is now over, waaa hahaha)
  • Days until next 4D ultrasound: 1, tomorrow morning at 11 @ TM4D in Glendale 🙂
  • bought our first pack of swaddling outfits, called Swaddle Pod in the newborn size.
  • bought a pink Boppy pillow today and an extra slip cover

Here are some pics of our new purchases

Newborn Swaddles

Bobby (to help me sleep better now, and use later while nursing)
Boppy Slipcover


Baby Bump Pics from yesterday @ 27 weeks 2days

flashback to 7 weeks

and here is 14 weeks

20 weeks

and holy cow… someone is growing like a weed! what a huge difference from 20 weeks to me at 27 weeks below..

