Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

How Big is Baby?

According to babycenter.com:

The network of nerves in your baby’s ears is better developed and more sensitive than before. She may now be able to hear both your voice and your partner’s as you chat with each other. She’s inhaling and exhaling small amounts of amniotic fluid, which is essential for the development of her lungs. These so-called breathing movements are also good practice for when she’s born and takes that first gulp of air. And she’s continuing to put on baby fat. She now weighs about a pound and two-thirds and measures 14 inches (an English hothouse cucumber) from head to heel.

According to babies online.com:

Your baby’s developed oil and sweat glands are now functioning. Her fingernails, toenails, eyebrows and eyelashes are now fully present and will continue to grow until birth. She can respond to sound and can hear you and those around you. Although we assume the uterus is a quiet place, the baby has been surrounded by noise for a long time. Things like your heartbeat, digestion, other body functions and external noises are heard by the baby. In fact, you may feel the baby jump at a sudden noise.

The uterus also allows some light to be seen so your baby is aware of light and dark. Your baby’s skin is wrinkled and translucent and may have a reddish color due to the presence of dermal blood vessels. Veins are visible through your baby’s skin, although it is quickly changing from transparent to opaque. The following months will see an increase in body fat. The lungs continue to mature with the development of air sacs and also begin to secrete surfactant (a substance that will help your baby’s lungs expand at birth). At this stage of development the various organs have formed. About 4 out of 10 babies born now may survive (with intensive care services).

How I’m Feeling Physically?

Recently my energy level has subsided, as sleep is becoming harder to come by. Finding a comfortable sleeping position with a basketball attached to your mid-section is tough. So looks like a pregnancy pillow is now on my list to buy asap!

I completed five workouts last week. Monday I had jet-lag and needed a day of just relaxing. Tuesday was filled with putting together new furniture and organizing the apartment. So no workouts were done those days, Wed-Sunday I made it everyday. I have been doing 45+ minutes on the elliptical now instead of the treadmill as I am so over shin splints. The elliptical is much easier on my joints as well my growing belly. I also did 4 netflix sessions of 10 minute target toning for my legs, arms, and butt.

I still fit in my pre-baby jeans with the belly band, which is nice. My maternity tops that used to be ridiculously long and baggy are definitely being filled out now by my growing bump. It is feeling REALLY big to me 🙂

How I’m Feeling Emotionally?

Emotionally this week has been a pretty smooth week just like last. I have been in a great mood and I think a lot of it is thanks to my workouts keeping my endorphins high and stress low. I hope I am fortunate enough to continue working out like this throughout the rest of my pregnancy. I am stoked to be closing in on my third trimester!

Random

  • weight gained : 14 lbs.
  • craving: mango, clementines, bananas with almond butter, So Delicious Coconut Ice Cream Sandwiches, and soy vanilla lattes
  • Days until next Doctor appointment: 3, last week’s appointment was canceled by my doctor- so glucose test is this week!!! Im still so nervous!
  • Days until next 4D ultrasound (the re-do of last week’s): 8
  • Days until Hayden is here: 96! Finally in the double digits 🙂

Baby Bump Pics

