Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well here we are.. already at 25 weeks.

According to babycenter.com:

Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. Her weight — a pound and a half — isn’t much more than an average rutabaga, but she’s beginning to exchange her long, lean look for some baby fat. As she does, her wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and she’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. She’s also growing more hair — and if you could see it, you’d now be able to discern its color and texture.

According to pregnancynew.com:

In this particular week, the development of the structures of the baby spine starts. There will be 33 rings, 150 joints and 1000 ligaments.

One last piece of information I thought was important, from whattoexpect.com:

Under her skin, capillaries are forming and filling with blood and by week’s end, air sacs (also lined with capillaries) will develop in her lungs, getting them ready for that first breath. Mind you, those lungs aren’t ready for prime time just yet — but they are developing surfactant, a substance that will help them expand after birth. And speaking of breathing, your baby’s tiny nostrils, which have been plugged up until now, are starting to open, and her vocal chords are getting ready to roar.

How I’m Feeling Physically

I am happy to tell you all that I still am feeling great! Baby H is very active these days, getting stronger and stronger by the day. Two nights ago I think she was changing positions because what I felt move wasn’t just a foot. It was large and made my whole stomach turn so I’m going to go with a butt or a head. It was really cool to be able to feel that. Clearly I know we are having a baby, but that reminded me how real that little baby is inside of me. I can’t keep my hands off my belly now, because I just love to feel her moving.

Even though I feel great now, I did have some insomnia towards the end of my trip in Minnesota. I think part of the reason I had insomnia, was due to the baby’s new stronger frequent movement during the middle of the night. When I felt her moving around so much my mind would go crazy thinking about the future and how much little time is left before she’ll be born. It is all happening so fast!! So between the insomnia, the 3-4 night-time bathroom breaks, and quite a bit of family things going on, I was left pretty drained and needing some sleep more than ever.

I don’t always sleep on airplanes, as I prefer to read, but on my flight back to California I couldn’t wait to remove the contacts from my eyes and close them for a few hours. So as soon as I boarded the empty red-eye I passed out across all three chairs in my aisle and woke up when we were in California! Sleep never felt so good!

Now that I am back home, we have lots of preparing to do. And this week is probably going to be one of the busiest we will have. We had three dressers delivered this morning (for Chase and I ~ we have way too many clothes) so we have to set them all up, re-organize our closet and move around some furniture. Then tomorrow we are picking up Baby H’s furniture from storage and getting it all set up in her room. I AM SOO EXCITED to have all of this done! I will post lots of pictures after we get the furniture set up 🙂

How I’m Feeling Emotionally

Emotionally this week has been a happy one! I am really excited that the time seems to be going by quickly and without any complications. I feel lucky that I have had such a wonderful pregnancy so far. I am starting to look into classes to prepare us for our little one and found some great classes at The Pump Station.

So far I have signed Chase and I up for the class called “Introduction to Breast Feeding”, which is a three hour class held in the end of March.  In this class I hope to calm any fears I have about breast feeding and really feel more comfortable and confident about the whole process.

__________________________________________________________

Baby Shower in Minnesota 

It was really nice to see all of my friends and family while I was home in Minnesota, and to get a break from the dogs (thanks Chase 🙂 ) As I mentioned in a previous post, I had two baby showers while I was home, the first weekend at my Mom’s house and the following weekend at my Dad’s.

The shower my friends threw for me at my Mom’s was so much fun! They made the Dreamy Chocolate Cupcakes featured on my blog, as well as lots of other healthy foods because they know what a health-nut I am. We also played lots of games – my favorite being the “guess how big her belly is” game. Each guest would cut a piece of yarn in hopes to be the exact measurement of my belly. And then we opened gifts! Everyone was so thoughtful, and there were some really amazing gifts – (Thanks everyone!!) One of my favorites was from my friend Kindy. She hand-made baby H this picture frame to match her nursery.

Isn’t this amazing? Kindy also hand made the gift bag herself. I think she needs to go into business!! If anyone is interested in having one custom-made please let me know and I will put you in touch with her.

_________________________________________________________________

Here is what baby H’s nursery will look like when it is finished ~ only with her initials in the background.  I found this great set-up on baby bedding.com and fell in love instantly. It is perfect!!!

________________________________________________________________

The shower my Step-Mom & Dad threw for me the following weekend was also a great time! This shower was a smaller get-together with just family. We had tons of home-made mexican food including: fresh scallop and shrimp ceviche, tostadas, guacamole, beans, and salsa mexicana. It was delicious! I couldn’t keep myself away from the ceviche! Not vegan, but one of my favorites nonetheless. I got some pretty amazing gifts here as well! Such wonderful people I have in my life! ❤

__________________________________________________________

Random

  • I am 25 weeks +4 days pregnant
  • weight gained: 14 lbs.
  • days until baby H is here: 102
  • Going to Wisconsin the weekend of March 3 for a baby shower with Chase’s family
  • craving: clementines, green smoothies, chocolate, banana soft serve, and seafood
  • Days until my next doctor’s appointment: 2
  • 5 gym workouts last week, 45+ minutes on the treadmill for 2 of the days, and 3 days of 50+ minutes on the elliptical (I have been doing the elliptical because my shin splints were getting out of control even with no incline) Each day that I was in the gym I also did resistance and strength training for about 20-30 minutes (squats, lunges, arm exercises w 4-5lb. weights, and stretching.
  • I got a pre-natal massage over the weekend and it was amazing. The masseuse said I had extremely tight quads, calves, and hips. She suggested some yoga poses and said I needed to stretch more often. And yup, that sounds right to me! I sure do 🙂

Baby Bump Pics

Just for a reminder, below is a picture at 14 weeks…

and here I am today at 25+4weeks

