Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow I have had a crazy busy weekend/week and am finally just starting to get some energy back to sit down and write my week 24 pregnancy update. Sorry, this post is a little late, as today I am 24 weeks 5 days.

How Big is Baby?

According to babycenter.com: Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

According to babiesonline.com: She will continue to gain weight in muscles, developing organs and the deposit of brown fat. The purpose of the brown fat is to retain body heat. Newborns are notoriously bad at regulating body temperature at first. This is particularly a problem for a baby born early. Changes are occurring in lung development so some babies are able to survive (with intensive care services) if born today. Surviving babies may have disabilities and require long-term intensive care. A good estimate is that a baby born now would usually stay in the NICU until their official due date.

Here is a picture of a preemie baby born at 24 weeks just so you can get a real idea of her size. So our baby H, definitely has a lot more growing to do. I hope I am fortunate enough to have her stay in her little haven until she is perfectly finished and ready to come out on her own!

How I’m Feeling Physically?

This week I was having a little more trouble getting started on the treadmill, but once I got into my zone I did just fine and could have gone for longer (even tho I didn’t LOL)

Last week I did 5 cardio workouts in the gym, and this week so far I have done 2, 3 will be today. For the past few weeks I have been running at 5.0 most of the time at 0 incline (incline gives me shin splints) If I need a break to slow down my heart rate or anything I will walk at 4.0 at 1.5-2.0 incline for somewhere between 2-5 minutes, and then return to running when I am ready.

Last week I also did 2 Netflix Target Toning videos, and 1 days of weight lifting/strength & resistance training. This week so far I haven’t done any Netflix yet, but I have done 2 weight/resistance training sessions after I finished my cardio. I also took a yoga sculpt class last night and my butt and legs are killing me!!! Yet I can’t wait to workout again today! It totally lifts up my mood and releases those happy endorphins that I crave 🙂

I have had more of an appetite lately, and haven’t been able to stay away from the sweets since they have been all around me with weddings, baby showers, and tons of family time. When I get back to LA it is definitely becoming my #1 priority to stay away from all things filled with sugar. This is kinda getting on my nerves that I am still struggling with this. How hard is it to just say no? I have my glucose test on the 19th right after I get back to LA and I want to make absolutely sure I pass. More fruit=less sugary treats for me. Looks like I need to pick up some cuties and honey crisp apples to help me get through the rest of my week here in Minnesota.

Baby H’s kicks have continued to grow stronger and stronger and I love feeling her move inside me. It’s reassurance that she is doing ok in there and I always smile a little to myself when I feel any movement.

I find myself needing to pee quite a bit more these days. I think her increasing weight is a contributing factor, and possibly kicks or punches to the bladder. When I have to pee it is really quite urgent. And laughing too hard always makes me feel like I am going to pee my pants- its almost scary how little control I have over it!!! haha 😉

How I’m Feeling Emotionally?

Oh, emotionally- I can tell I have some of those pregnant hormones. I can get snappy, or teary eyed about the smallest things. For example- at my cousin’s wedding, when they started playing the music as she was coming down the aisle I really found myself really fighting back tears. I was standing with all the other bridesmaids in front of 200 people so I really didn’t want to start balling when just the music was playing. So I did everything in my power to think about something funny to stop them! Fortunately the tears just welled up in my eyes, and didn’t actually pour down my face. Later all the other bridesmaids told me that the music almost made them burst into tears as well so I guess I’m not too bad…

As far as stressful situations or little things I may get annoyed about I try to remind myself that its really not a big deal and to relax. Stress is not good for the baby, so I try to check myself asap whenever any kind of little tif arrises – like my teenage sister driving me bananas. Teenagers… I feel sorry for the things I put my mother through years ago… I really do. And I hope my little girl isn’t too hard on me :O

Random Facts

  • Weight gained: 13-14 lbs. depending on the day.
  • cravings: sugar (bad bad BAD!!! haha), smoothies, and protein – lots and lots of protein. I am also constantly drinking water. I can’t get enough! This is probably why I am always peeing.
  • 108 more days til baby is due! That means 15 weeks, 3 days left of my pregnancy! Woohoo!
  • A little over 3 weeks until I enter my 3rd Trimester

I will do a post on all the gifts I received at my baby shower in the next day or two. I just have to take pics of them first! The baby shower was great!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to share more about it!

Baby Bump Pics

(In my little sister’s old bedroom 🙂 )

Please excuse the messy room in the background!

Here are some pics from the wedding ~

This was the wedding as it was getting set up… it was held at the Carlson Towers Rotunda in Minnetonka.

And here is my cousin, the new Mrs. Brianna Tongen, after she put her dress on and was having it tied up in the back.

Here is me after I came home from the wedding. I left around like 10pm (when everyone started to get kind of hammered LOL) from the reception because I felt like I was about to burst out of my bridesmaid dress. (the one I didn’t get altered. Yea it was a size 2. I had to squeeze into it at the beginning of the day, and after all the wedding food I had consumed I was so uncomfortable I couldn’t wait to take it off and put on comfortable clothing. So as soon as I got home – it was pajama time!)

Here is a belly pic…. if you have ever been pregnant you know that by nighttime your belly looks as if its double the size. I look 9 months here. WOW!

Here is my wedding hair- it is kind of falling out at this point but you get the idea..

Ok well thats all for now. I am going to get a coffee with my dad, grocery shop for dinner, and hopefully hit the gym. Hope all of you have a great day!

xoxo Jennifer

