Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Vegan Chocolate Chip cookies…. most of the time they aren’t very soft and definitely not chewy because they don’t contain egg. Not these.

I found this amazing recipe off one of my favorite vegan blogs, Daily Garnish. I kept most of the recipe the same, but I slightly lowered the sugar content and upped the chocolate chips! Can one ever have enough chocolate chips?

I’ve made vegan chocolate chips cookies many many times, but I have never tried this recipe before. These cookies are the absolute BEST vegan cookies I have ever made. Best I have ever tasted even! They are soft and chewy just like the traditional non vegan tollhouse recipe. A must make for sure if you are a cookie lover!!

The cookie dough you can taste test as well because there are no raw eggs.

For me, this recipe made just over 2 dozen. After baking, I froze half the cookies. I grew up grabbing chocolate chip cookies from the freezer (my mom made dozens and dozens so we froze them often) and now I like to eat them that way! I would like to say it helps that they are frozen to avoid the temptation but they are perfect to just grab right out of the freezer and go – they are so chewy they aren’t really that hard to eat this way. Chase on the other hand, prefers his nuked for about 20 seconds- he thinks I am crazy for eating them frozen. Depends on your preference I suppose.

These will be gone before you know it! Frozen or not!

Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies adapted from Daily Garnish

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1/2 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, loosely packed (I only had 1/4 cup, if you want lower sugar you could probably cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup each of cane and brown and they would still come out perfect, they are pretty sweet)
  • 1 medium ripe banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp non-dairy milk (I used So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used about 3/4 cup)

(These can be made with regular milk or butter if you don’t want them to be vegan.)

Directions:
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Combine dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, salt) in a medium mixing bowl and set aside.
  • In a stand mixer (or using a hand mixer), cream together Earth Balance with brown and cane sugars.
  • Once the sugar mixture is light and fluffy, add the banana, vanilla, and milk and beat until combined.
  • Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet, beating just until mixed.  Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Put 12 cookie dough balls on a greased cookie sheet (I used Spectrum Coconut Oil Cooking Spray). Press each cookie down a little to flatten, so they aren’t so round.
  • Bake for 10 minutes until the bottoms are browned and the tops are slightly golden.
  • Set aside on a cooling rack and let them cool before eating. Once they are set they get that nice chewy-ness to them. If you eat them before they have cooled, they might crumble apart a little.

My favorite cookies probably… ummm ever.

xoxo Jennifer

What are your favorite chocolate chips to bake with?

What is your favorite kind of cookie?

Do you ever eat your cookies straight from the freezer?

