Tags

, , , , ,

Fall mornings I always wake up cold. When I roll out of bed, I toss on one of my bf’s sweatshirts, take out the dogs, and then come inside and figure out whats for breakfast. Most of the time I make just myself breakfast, because the bf likes to sleep in.

Don’t get me wrong, so do I, but the thought of the stinky mess I will be left to clean up if our dogs don’t get out right away prevents me from basking in the extra hour or two of sleep. Between their intense “cuddling” lol and the early morning potty run- sleeping in has become a distant memory.

So when I finally come back inside, I want something comforting and healthy to warm my belly. Unfortunately that isn’t a icy cold green smoothie.  But there is my other favorite. Oatmeal.

For those of you that turn your nose up to Oatmeal, you really don’t know what you are missing out on.

Oatmeal can be made so many different ways, it is pretty hard to NOT like it in my opinion.  You can make it sweet or savory.  You can make it cold (Vegan Overnight Oats) or piping hot.  You can nuke it for two minutes if you are in a hurry, and cook it on the stovetop if you’ve got time to spare.

Oatmeal keeps me satiated until lunch with only 150 calories per serving (not including my fave toppings) Oatmeal is a whole grain, provides a good amount of fiber, helps lower cholesterol levels, helps to maintain healthy blood pressure, and keeps your blood sugar in check!

So if you are one of the many people who haven’t eaten Oatmeal in years because your only memory of it isn’t a good one, let me encourage you to give it another shot.  I promise, I won’t let you down.

I am impatient, so in the morning I don’t want to wait 30 minutes for my breakfast. When I am hungry I want to eat right away, or I will end up snacking on other things, and then not even be hungry for what I was making in the first place. If you are like me, I suggest preparing your Oatmeal the night before so its ready to just be heated up immediately in the microwave.

The night before, I take a microwave safe bowl and put in my 1/2 c. oats with 1 c. water and a little vanilla extract.  I cover it, and let it sit overnight in the fridge.

The next morning, I nuke it for 2 and half minutes. Stir in a tablespoon of chia seeds, add a few splashes of almond milk (chia seeds hold ten times their weight in liquid so they will make your Oatmeal very thick)

Stir in a tablespoon of extra virgin Coconut Oil, give a generous sprinkle of cinnamon & nutmeg. Peel a small banana/half of a large and cut up into 1/4″ pieces and put over the top. Finish off your oatmeal with a nice glob (about a tablespoon or whatever you prefer) of nut butter.

Trader Joe’s has an all natural nut butter called Better’N Peanut Butter that has 85% less fat and 45% less calories than regular nut butter. It also has no saturated fat, no trans fat, gluten free, dairy free, no cholesterol, and NO preservatives! Two tbsp of this stuff will clock you in at about 100 calories, and 2g of fat. Yes please!

Other great nut butters are Barney Butter and Artisana… or homemade ones. Nut butter is very easy to make I highly suggest trying it out yourself sometime. (More on that later)

Oh yea… and then drizzle a small amount of maple syrup on top if you like a little extra sweetness.

You can swirl your nut butter around or leave it right on the top and dip a little on your spoon for each bite.

Mmmmm oatmeal this way tastes nothing like the kind I had growing up. Oatmeal growing up wasn’t terrible, but it was usually just plain with lots brown sugar and skim milk. I like a little to have a little more fun with breakfast these days I guess, but there are times when simple is nice too.

Cinnamon Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. oats (I used Quaker Whole Wheat Instant)
  • 1 c. water (or non diary milk)
  • 1 T. chia seeds
  • 1/4 c. almond milk (to make creamier after adding chia seeds)
  • 1 T. extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1-2 T. organic pure maple syrup (or other sweetener)
  • cinnamon & nutmeg (to taste)
  • 1 small banana cut into 1/4″ slices
  • 1 T. nut butter

Other toppings such as berries, mixed nuts, cacao nibs, chocolate chips are also great on top! Try it out and see what you like, its fun to mix and match.

Directions:

Microwave you oats, water and vanilla in a microwave safe bowl for 2 1/2 minutes or according to package directions.  Mix in chia seeds, extra virgin coconut oil, and spices. Your oatmeal will become very thick because of the chia seeds, so now may be a good time to add your almond milk to thin it out. Then top with banana slices, peanut butter, and maple syrup.

Enjoy!

If you are bored with your breakfast, I highly suggest returning to Oatmeal and trying yours this way! I just had a bowl of this for breakfast this morning, along with a homemade pumpkin spice latte. Lets just say it was a great morning 🙂 Happy Day to everyone!

xo Jennifer

Do you have childhood memories of Oatmeal? 

What are your favorite toppings?

What are some comfort foods you remember from childhood?

