Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Every morning when I wake up, usually about 8am, its cuddle time for at least 15 minutes with the puppies.  They do their morning yoga (up-dog and down-dog), lick every inch of our faces, lick each other, and then sit at the foot of the bed.  I take that back, our littlest one, Vienna, sits at the foot of the bed. The other two, Bronx and Harlem, lift the duvet up with their noses, and dig their way back under the covers as if they were a teenager who just hit the snooze button on a schoolday. Tough life!

After some quality snuggle time has taken place, I make my way into the kitchen.  I pour myself a large cup of purified warm water with the juice of half a lemon.

I sip on that for about twenty minutes (without eating or drinking anything else) while I get ready for yoga.  Lemon water assists in “cleansing the system of impurities” aka digestion and elimination, liquefies bile and helps control excess bile flow in the liver, among many of other health benefits.

Then I pitter around some more reading blogs and watching the news.  After the lemon water has had enough time to work its magic, I make a pre-workout snack.

Most of the time, like today, its 1/2 of a Food for Life Gluten Free Multi-Seed English Muffin, toasted, and topped with either some nut butter or Tofutti Non-Hydrogenated Cream Cheese.  Today I was indecisive. I wanted both the nut butter and the cream cheese (garlic & herb, mmmmm), so I sliced my english muffin in half again so I could enjoy both spreads. Perfecto!

My Corepower Yoga Sculpt class was intense today!  The teacher had us do a bunch of new poses so my body was a little shocked and was working harder than usual. But hey, I ain’t complainin! The harder the teacher pushes us, the more more I get out of it.  My ideal day in sculpt class would be some loud Britney Spears or Kaskade {house music} on the stereo and a badass bootcamp like instructor.

When I have someone reminding me during a set of crunches I might be struggling to finish, “Think about how you want your bootie to look in your swimsuit! Come on push yourself harder!” or “Your mind will give up before your body will!” really pushes me to bring it!  I know that if I am going to invest so much of my time attending class, I better give it every ounce of energy I’ve got!  I want results!  Obviously physical, but mental results as well, and thus far the hard work is paying off 🙂 I look forward to going everysingleday! WINNING!!!!

Anyway, after I returned home from yoga, still feeling that “yogi high” I danced around the kitchen, played some Wynter Gordon on my iPod, and let my creative juices flow! I pulled out various frozen fruits, and some veggies and just started tossing things into the Vitamix.  Because bananas and citrus mask veggies so well, I can throw pretty much anything right in and be confident that the results will be divine.  And divine it was!

Recovery Strawberry Smoothie

Ingredients (serves about 2, 16 oz. glasses)

  • 1 c. purified water or coconut water
  • 1 tbsp. hemp seeds (optional)
  • 1 tbsp. chia/ or flax seeds (the seeds help to bind everything together for a thicker smoothie)
  • 1 tsp. maca powder (optional)
  • 1 scoop protein powder (optional)
  • 3/4 c. green cabbage
  • 1/2 c.  cucumber
  • small grab of alfalfa sprouts (optional)
  • 1 c. or 8-9 frozen strawberries
  • 1 chopped small/medium nectarine or peach
  • 1/2 c. pineapple
  • 1/3 c. frozen mango
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 6 ice cubes (optional)

Instructions

  • Add liquid into blender followed by powders, and the rest of the ingredients.
  •  Blend until smooth.
  • I topped this smoothie with shredded coconut and cacao nibs.  Some other ideas are, chopped fruit, mint leaves, granola, oatmeal, etc.

This smoothie has lots of naturally sweetened fruits in it already, so I do not add sweetener.  You can follow this recipe, mix n match, or add in whatever you have on hand. The ratio for a beginner is 70% fruits, and the other 30% veggies, increase the veggie content at your own rate.   I threw in the banana because it adds a sweet creamy flavor & texture.  You can not taste the cabbage, cucumber or sprouts at all, because the fruits hide their flavors.

I was never a huge fan of sprouts, but after reading their benefits, I picked some up and decided to take the plunge! Now I am slowly adding them into my diet (make sure to just add a small amount {I kind of put in a lot in this photo} and increase as you feel more comfortable.) Why should we eat sprouts you ask?

Sprouts are not only a great source of vital nutrients, but they have the ability to cure and prevent common diseases like colon cancer and osteoporosis. Often said to be one of the fountains of youth– their extreme level of antioxidants prevent DNA destruction, and protect us from the ongoing effects of aging. YES! I’ll add some to my smoothies each day to keep my skin looking young and vibrant! NO PROB.

Now I am off to the mall for an afternoon of some serious shopping! Tomorrow I will be posting about Raw Cacaco – a natural stimulant filled with antioxidants and magnesium! My healthy alternative to coffee or red bull.  ~ Have a great day ~

What are your favorite work out snacks? Do you prefer to work out on an empty stomach or do you also need a little snack before you break a sweat?  

