Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the new “green smoothie” (actually the finished color is purple) I have been making every single morning for the last week. I like to enjoy smoothies after I return home from hot yoga. I actually race home to make them! haha ๐Ÿ˜‰ This one in particular is remarkably refreshing, the flavor has a nice crisp bite to it from the ginger and every sip leaves you craving the next. You would never guess it was packed with vitamins giving you a boost of energy that will keep you going for hours!

I use the miracle kitchen tool, the Vitamix, to blend all the ingredients together. If you have a regular blender that will work just fine too. (I will have a future post about the vitamix soon)

So lets start the smoothie!

I use one cup of Zico coconut water (coconut water has 5 essential electrolytes –great for post workout hydration) if you dont have any on hand, simply use filtered water, or non-dairy milk as the base.

Add in a tablespoon each of organic raw shelled hemp and chia seeds to boost the protein and up the healthy fats. (Hemp seeds are a superfood best known for their omega-3 and omega-6 essential fatty acids, protein, and antioxidants. Chia seeds are also a nutritional powerhouse with a long list of benefits, the most notable being omega 3 essential fatty acids, fiber, and very high level of antioxidants – more than blueberries!!)

I like to add Navitas Naturals superfood powders to my smoothies, but you can omit these if you don’t have them.

I usually add in a tsp of Lucuma (Loo-coo-ma) powder, and a rounded tsp of Maca powder. Lucuma adds a subtle sweetness and Maca is for energy.

If this smoothie is going to be a meal substitute, I like to add a scoop of Amazing Grass Amazing Meal protein (I only buy all natural plant based protein powders, and stay away from ones containing soy and gluten.)

 

 

I am a huge fan ofย fresh ginger! I cut off about a 3/4 inch chunk, (I add a generous amount because I love the flavour so much; but you can just slice off a 1/4″ piece and see how you like it.. adding more to taste.)

There is no need to peel it, just toss it right in.

Next, add one whole organic lemon. You can leave the skin on if you wish, but as with all fruits and vegetables when the skin is consumed make sure to wash it thoroughly. Lemon skin & pith (the white part under the skin) has high nutritive content, and helps the body’s immune system ward off infection. Citrus also counteracts any bitterness from the greens, so if you have small lemons you may want to add two.

I usually add in about a heaping cup of frozen organic blueberries, several large handfuls of washed organic baby spinach, 2-3 leaves of fresh kale (remove the large center stems), and one frozen banana. You can add agave or sweetener if you like, but I think it is perfectly sweetened naturally. Blend.

If you add frozen fruit, you don’t really need to add any extra ice, but I choose to add a few cubes because I like my smoothies extra cold. And I like to eat them from an oversized mug with a spoon. sometimes I put them in a cereal bowl and eat them with a spoon. yum. seriously yum.

Gingerberry Green Smoothie

Ingredients (makes 4 cups)

1 cup coconut water (such as Zico)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp hemp seeds (optional)
1 tsp lucuma powder (optional)
1 tsp maca powder (optional)
1 scoop protien powder (optional)
1/4″- 3/4″ fresh cut organic ginger
1 large organic lemon, halved (you can peel, leave as much of the pith on as you can)
1 heaping cup organic frozen blueberries
2-3 large handfuls organic baby spinach
2 leaves of kale, stems removed (use another leaf if you are a pro!)
1 frozen banana (peel and freeze banana chunks in a zip lock baggy so you always have them on hand)
6 ice cubes (optional)

Blend until smooth.

If you don’t have a high powered blender, you’ ll want to gradually add the ingredients together. Blending every so often will help so you don’t jam your blender.

This is a fabulous smoothie. Even my uber picky boyfriend said he loved it. Go. Make one now. Your taste buds will thank you, and your body will rejoice! Have a great day.

What are your favorite fruits/veggies for a smoothie?

xo jennifer

